Léonie Sonning Prize 2020

Barbara Hannigan

Barbara Hannigan awarded the Léonie Sonning Music Prize 2020

Soprano and conductor Barbara Hannigan will receive the Léonie Sonning Music Prize 2020 at a concert to be held on April 23, 2020, 7:30pm, at the DR Concert House.


Fazil Say: Gezi Park III Ballade for soprano, piano and string orchestra op. 54 (2014)

Mozart: Piano Concerto no. 21 K467 (1785)

Alban Berg: Lulu-suite 5 symphonic pieces from the opera for soprano and orchestra (1934)

Gershwin: Girl Crazy Suite (1930/2016) (arrangement Bill Elliot and Barbara Hannigan) 

Barbara Hannigan, soprano and conductor
Fazil Say, piano
The Danish National Symphony Orchestra

The prize concert is the main event of a mini festival with Barbara Hannigan in focus.

Sunday, April 19, 3pm, 2020
The Royal Academy of Music, Concert Hall
Organiser: Det Danske Sangselskab

Erik Satie: Chansons
Erik Satie: Gnossiennes
Erik Satie: Socrate

Barbara Hannigan, soprano
Reinbert de Leeuw, piano

Tuesday, April 21, 2020
The Cinematheque
Film night

C’est Presque au bout du monde. Director Mathieu Amalric (2015)
Music is Music. Director: Mathieu Amalric (2017)
Taking Risks (Working title. Planned première in the autumn of 2019)

Barbara Hannigan will introduce the evening and answer questions.

Friday, April 24, 2020, 11am - 4pm
The Royal Academy of Music, Concert Hall
Lecture with Q&A and master class

Students from the Royal Academy of Music and the Royal Opera Academy.

Barbara Hannigan will be the 8th singer and the 16th conductor to be awarded the Léonie Sonning Music Prize. Previous laureates include Igor Stravinskij (1959), Lennart Bernstein (1965), Birgit Nilsson (1966), György Ligeti (1990), Cecilia Bartoli (2010) and Simon Rattle (2013).

The latest prize winner was conductor Mariss Jansons, who was awarded the Léonie Sonning Music Prize on March 9, 2018. Friday April 24, 2019, Hans Abrahamsen will receive the Léonie Sonning Music Prize during a concert at the DR Concert House where Barbara Hannigan will sing Let me Tell You as a soloist.

The Léonie Sonning Music Prize amounts to EUR 100,000.

With her ability to both sing and conduct and compose deeply personal programmes, Barbara Hannigan is a phenomenon and an artist showing new paths for classical music. And with world première performances of more than 85 works, several of which have potential as new classics, Barbara Hannigan is the queen among the singers of the music of our time.

Read the full bio from Barbara Hannigan's own website

Esben Tange
Chairman of the Léonie Sonning Music Foundation
Copenhagen, February 1, 2019

Ticket sales for the prize concert will open February 7, 2019 (for subscribers) and March 1, 2019 (for non-subscribers) via the DR Concert House Website.